The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Frosted web

It was a cold, cold morning, but I managed to 'repair' the TV ( it had lost the internet password) and sew up the curtain hem (a task overdue by several years) AND get CleanSteve hooked up to Apple TV on his laptop (he's a Slow Horses fan) before heading off to the Trinity Rooms for a day of dance. 

I'd been worried about the shared lunch (because I'd forgotten all about it) but I brought along some fancy olives and tahini and carrot batons, and it was all fine. I had some interesting and weird foods that others had brought. Tofu with the texture of eyeballs, and beetroot salad, spring to mind. 

The dance was good too, though I'm probably never again going to sign up for a 15-hour intensive (!). When I got home in the freezing cold, I threw myself into the bath, and after that started getting dressed in my carefully co-ordinated Christmas Workplace Meal outfit. As it was cold I'd decided to wear tights and leggings, but the leggings seemed to have shrunk. Or could it possibly be that my bottom has grown? Every time I tell a lie, maybe? 

What a faff. But I even managed to put makeup on. Unheard-of.Then my colleague and I drove through darkness and freezing fog to a country venue, the one I'd last attended as a funeral guest. There was nothing sombre about the mood tonight though: prosecco and wine flowed all night, and the three course dinner was delightful. I had hake as my main course. 

The music began. V and I had a pact that we would dance (because only ten people ever do) so we got up on the floor and threw some shapes along with other people, and that was it for the next hour. We had a Spotify playlist that we could all add to, but there was s silent disco too with three channels. Very odd, very new normal (only in Non-CoVid times because, you know, the mingling, the headphones, the trifle that someone else might have touched...)

V left at 10.30 so I asked my lift if she wanted to go. She said yes, and then got into a conversation with a GP about a patient! That lasted half an hour. I went back to the silent/non silent disco for a blast of The Eye of the Tiger. And that other one: Livin' on a Prayer. I'm not really a rock chick, but when I've had a few drinks, I think I'm an amazing dancer. Others might disagree.

When we did leave, the icy ground was being softened by rain and had turned into an ice rink. I was wearing two-inch heels. It's a miracle I got back to the car, or from the car to my home. Still amazingly sober.

In my absence, Indie the cat appeared to have been on the lash, and the bedroom was trashed: books, baskets, magazines scattered, and my beloved Brown Teddy looking broken-boned at the foot of my bed, his paw over his face as if averting his eyes from the chaos and indignity. A gentlebear of his age should not have to put up with such treatment, he seemed to imply. 

I tidied up, and went looking for Indie. She did not reply to my calling. Eventually I found her inside my wardrobe, sitting on a woollen scarf and refusing to budge. I cajoled her down: she stepped into an upside down stool with infinite grace, and disembarked at carpet level. She often gets stuck, I think there's a Getting Down part of her brain that isn't fully activated. She ran off, and the next time I went into our office bedroom, I found Brown Teddy on the floor again. Indie has no consideration. 

After that, I went to bed. Slept almost immediately. Quelle surprise!

PS I'll.put Brown Teddy in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.