Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

It's beginning to look like...

...Christmas. As I get older I always feel that Christmas creeps up on me when I am not quite ready for it. Of course I am ready for it in that all my Christmas shopping was done by last month, but mentally I still seem surprised when I see Christmas decorations up wondering why people are putting up decorations so soon! So today I decided to kick start my brain into thinking Christmas is definitely coming...and there is not much you can do about it so you might as well get on with it!

It was a wet day interspersed with some bright spells, but a good day to be indoors. I got stuck into wrapping presents this morning and they are now all done! The Christmas tree was delivered this morning by the little elves (local Scout boys) and up it went, and then I spent this afternoon decorating it. It's always lovely to reacquaint myself with my Christmas decorations, although by the time Christmas is over I am quite happy to pack them all away again for another year. Our Nordic spruce tree looks quite dry and a bit dead by Christmas day, but as we go to Switzerland on the 27th I take it down on the 26th so it only has to last for about 3 weeks from now.

We went out to our local pub for Sunday lunch, and their decorations are stunning, I wish I had taken my camera with me. Of course they were professionally done and it would have been very costly, but I did wish I was as skilled as that to make our Christmas decorations look as good.

Tommy's first tutoring session yesterday went well, he was preparing a student for his Cambridge University entrance interviews, and I was quite impressed with how Tommy prepared for the session. He has another one tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.