Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunset at Hunstanton

Last night we watched Let Him Go on Netflix - it was an excellent movie with strong performances from all the cast, notably Kevin Costner, Diane Lane and Lesley Manville - I can highly recommend it but be warned it is harrowing in parts.

This morning I let Gavin sleep in, I finally woke him at 9.45am which is late for us as we are always up early. He felt much better after a good night's sleep and his sore throat has gone. As yesterday's forecast was wrong in that we unexpectedly had beautiful sunny weather, today's was also wrong in that the expected cloudy weather was actually rainy with frequent squalls. We had planned to walk from Brancaster Staithe to Burnham Overy Staithe, and so we set off in the rain, with all the right clothing on, but 20 minutes into the walk with the wind and rain blowing directly into our faces I did not think it was such a good idea after all. We were about to turn back - I was worried it was not a good idea for Gavin as he is not well - but he wanted to press on and so we braved the inclement weather and walked the 8km from staithe to staithe. We arrived in Burnham Overy Staithe in time for a light lunch at The Hero, and then caught the bus outside the pub back to Brancaster Staithe.

Xena was a two toned dog by the end of our walk, ginger on top and dark brown underneath! She was shivering and very happy to go in to the pub for lunch out of the cold wind. Thankfully most pubs, cafes and restaurants around here are dog friendly.

I had planned to go back to Hunstanton this afternoon to photograph the zigzag groynes again, but I was feeling a bit tired and still damp after our morning walk, so I almost decided against it - but I decided never to waste an opportunity and so we went! By now the sun had come out and as we got to Hunstanton there was a beautiful sunset forming, which is when I took this main image. 

I have included an extra of the groynes - I decided to convert it to mono, which is unusual for me as lately I have gone off mono images as I can never decide how to process them, dark and moody or light and arty, its too much to think about so I just leave them in colour. Besides I love colour and I think too many people convert bad images to mono thinking it rescues them. The second extra was taken this morning on the walk, you can see all the geese in the air - Norfolk is home to many geese every year who spend winter here, the fields are full of hundreds of geese as is the sky.

Tonight we are making baked gnocchi with mixed peppers, tomatoes and chilli for supper - and we will watch another movie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.