Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Brancaster beach

We had an early start this morning to drive to Norfolk, we left a little later than expected but still got here by 10am which took just over three hours. It rained all the way but when we arrived the sky looked clear with some blue patches. The reason we have come up was to bring the canvases I had printed (and other things) and while I was out walking Xena, Gavin hung all the canvases. We also had a carpenter in this week to put up some shelving and so the first thing I did before walking Xena was to hoover up the sawdust.

Thankfully it did not rain on my walk, and Xena and I had a lovely walk from Brancaster Staithe to Brancaster beach and then along the beach, where it was really very blowy, with the sand blowing across the beach which Xena had fun chasing after! It was a long walk and my foot was swollen afterwards :( An extra of another beach scene and of Xena sitting and enjoying her surroundings - before having a zoomy moment where she went mad digging a big hole in the sand. She has a very dirty belly from the mud in the marsh area next to the beach.

We had soup for lunch which I had made yesterday, it was utterly delicious - a roasted tomato soup that also has sundried tomatoes in it and some balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce which gave it a great kick. Gavin was busy all day hanging canvases and mirrors and other bits and pieces while I edited my photos. We are coming again on a couple of weeks time with Tommy and Inca and we wanted everything to be done by then, and it is certainly feeling more homely now despite not having any sofas or armchairs yet (arriving in January).

A friend texted me with the good news that Switzerland no longer requires a 10 day quarantine for UK visitors (but requires a PCR test before entry and on day 4 -7) so that means that our trip to Switzerland after Christmas is back on! Of course it could all change again before then but we live in hope! Although with my foot as it is at the moment there is no way I can put on ski boots so I won't be able to ski unless it improves by then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.