Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A freezing fog

We have had a freezing fog all day. I planned to go to Bushy Park this morning for a frosty sunrise, but it was not to be! Although it is very cold we had no frost today, just the chilling fog which has lasted all day. I got quite cold on my walk today - correction, my hands got cold and went all white with bits of blue due to my poor circulation. The far side of the pond is frozen but I was surprised that the rest of it was not frozen.

Last night Tommy made us butternut risotto for supper, it was amazing! I love risotto but will never order it in a restaurant as it is a dish that takes time and patience, as you have to stand at the cooker while you add the stock and then slowly stir it into the rice, repeating this until the rice is soft, and restaurants don't have the time to make it properly in this way. Tommy's risotto was one of the best I have ever tasted. We opened a bottle of Chandon Spritz which we discovered on our weekend to Seville a few months ago, the hotel we stayed at offered it as an aperitif and I love it! I was very pleased to find it on sale here in the UK when we returned from Seville, and I have been saving this bottle for a good meal.

I could not believe it today but I was in the kitchen talking to Gavin, and something outside the kitchen window caught my eye, and it was a kingfisher! It was perched on the edge of our fountain, the first time I have ever seen a kingfisher in this area, let alone in my garden. I ran to get the camera but it was gone by the time I got back.

I have made a lamb curry for supper, perfect for this weather. I will serve it with the usual Durban accompaniments that we call 'sambals' which are diced tomato and onion, chutneys, and sliced banana - do you know how unbelievably good sliced banana is on a lamb curry? Try it and see!

I also finished reading an excellent book today, The River We Remember by one of my most favourite authors, William Kent Krueger. His characterisations are so life like, I feel as if I know the characters and miss them when I have finished the book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.