This is the day

By wrencottage

It's a wind up!

The Traveller is currently living up to his name, so Smithers and I are home alone for a while. We watched our church service online this morning, admiring the beautifully decorated church with the first of the four Advent candles lit, and later on I made a chicken curry for lunch from our lovely Hello Fresh cookbook. This recipe is now a firm favourite!

This afternoon I filled the bird feeders and scrubbed out the bird baths, discarding the remaining ice, and filled them with fresh water. We then went out for a short walk. It was much less cold than yesterday, and as we walked our thoughts were very much with the poor people in our favourite part of Cumbria who were stuck in snow drifts on the A591 yesterday for many, many hours. We have driven that route many times in the spring, summer and autumn and it’s a beautiful drive, but it must have been horrendous to be stuck fast on that road without heat, food or drink for so long.

The contraption in my photo is a yarn winder, which has been invaluable to me over the past few days. I’ve unravelled a child’s cardigan that I’d started knitting some months ago, then decided I really didn’t like the pattern, and gave up. It has been a lengthy job to unravel it all because it was a complicated lacy pattern which wouldn’t unravel without considerable effort on my part, and much patient pulling out of knots. So I was very grateful for the yarn winder, which produced lovely little yarn balls, despite the unravelled wool being full of kinks from having been knitted up for some time, like a little girl’s hair when the plaits are undone! 

I’m not sure what I will make with the rescued yarn, but I feel good for not having wasted it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.