Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

All day sunshine!

More frost last night - followed by an almost cloudless, blue-skied sunny day!  I decided to take my camera down to the Isle of Seil, to Ellenabeich, to take advantage of the weather and enjoy the scenery. For some reason I thought I might have lunch in the pub, but being December, and Sunday, the pub was closed as was the shop and I was the only visitor in the village! 

I took some pictures - this is one of them, taken on the approach to the village. I enjoyed a pleasant chat with an old gentleman outside his house and on the way back called in to An Cala, the beautiful garden owned by my elderly friend Sheila Downie. She's been unwell and I wanted to see how she was. Her gardener was there and told me I'd just missed her - not long before she'd set off for the Christmas Tree Festival at St Conan's Church, on Loch Awe!

I'd forgotten that it was on, so decided to go. It meant driving back to Oban, then a 45 minute drive northwards. When I arrived every possible parking space absolutely everywhere round about was taken - the church and village was heaving! Fortunately I found a space as somebody was moving out, and was quickly over to the church. It's an amazing place, more of which another time, but on this occasion it was totally mobbed! Apparently Sunday afternoon is the busiest of the weekend as there are various choirs singing. 

There were 72 Christmas trees on display, set up by a multitude of different organisations, and everyone is supposed to vote for their favourite. When I arrived at the desk however, they'd run out of paper, so I didn't vote! This is my extra for today.

By the time I got home, at 3.45, it seemed rather late for lunch, so I had a cuppa instead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.