Living my dream

By Mima

Iris

This is one of a kind in K’s garden. I’ve not seen another like it anywhere and wonder if we have unwittingly created a hybrid. Or perhaps it came in the soil with something else. 

The hollyhocks are going to be good this year and will fill this space once the iris has died down. You can see their leaves on the right.

The big news of the day Chez Mima is that one of the newer chooks laid an egg this morning; at last, eight and a half weeks after I collected them. 

They were sold as “point of lay 18 weeks old”. I don’t think so: more like 12 or 13 weeks old, which would have been fine if only the sellers had been honest about it.

While a couple of them have nicely developed wattles and combs, the rest are still looking immature, but nevertheless I expect them all to start laying in the next two to three weeks.

The new egg is tiny compared to the one I’m getting daily from the last laying older hen: about 1/3 of the size. I shall have it for my supper and taste test it.

There’s still no sun here, but at least it’s been still and in the low-20s. After yesterday’s relative lack of exercise it’s been great to be in the garden all today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.