Cumbrialass

By Cumbrialass

A frustrating day waiting

What a contrast to yesterday! 
We woke to snow. As we're so close to the Sea we dont get much snow and if any it usually melts by the afternoon. 
I'd a telephone call from the Dr booked for 12:15 so the plan was to take Fletch out after that. 

But the walk never happened. It kept snowing and I kept waiting for the call.... and waiting.  Nobody called . Fletch went out into the garden in the gaps between the snow fall. It didn't get too deep, the salty air was melting it a bit but it wasn't a day for going out. 
The local.news asked people.to avoid travelling.  There have been several.accidents in town and not far from.Barrow the snow is so deep people are  abandoning cars .

 About 5pm.it was starting to get much colder and I went out to clear a path before it turned to ice
 I remembered we'd bought a snow shovel a few years ago and never needed to use it.  I found it at the back of the shed covered in cobwebs.  

Despite it being about -2 degrees I heard a clap of thunder and for the next half hour we had the rumbles of thunder storm over head.  Unusual weather

 A day of waiting so I got on with the rainbow cardie which my sis in law asked me to knit for her Xmas present.  The colours brightened up a dark day and the knitting kept me warm . The heating was on but it was hard to get the house warmer than19 degrees.

I'm not sure why I didn't get the phone call. Its annoying as I could have had a face to face appointment a week on Monday. Oh for the days when you phoned up and could see a Dr the same day.! Luckily my knee is ok at the moment. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.