Market

I was later out for my walk this morning and it involved a stop at a Tesco for some potatoes that we had for lunch. And I bought snacks which I regretted for most of the morning as I chomped my way through some of them. On a brighter note, my wine delivery arrived. 

Sat through a long presentation on the video advertising market that our product is aimed at. They did an interesting analysis of the growing addressable advertising market. When it came to a review of the competitive landscape they only covered FreeWheel and Google in the allotted time. Many in the call found it useful but I thought the more interesting segment would have been the next level of technology companies where we have more of a chance in the short term of competing. I think we’ll have another session.

Around 5:30pm I left for Wimbledon Chase. I was meeting Mark at Smiths of Smithfield: a restaurant amid the old market concrete labyrinth. The train was on time and I arrived a little early so walked around the block until 7pm. Mark has booked table at the bar, which was quite busy and loud with a couple of groups watching the football and a couple of Christmas parties.  He was running late, and coming from Waterloo, which surprised me as, given the location, I assumed that he’d been in the office.

I had a beer while I was waiting. Even though I was on my own, it was easy enough to order as there’s an app and somebody bring’s drinks to the table.  As usual, our conversation was broadly based on work: I tried to argue that, when I worked with him, we'd been overstaffed but he was having none of it.  As always, a lovely evening,

I ate a burger, which were lovely, Mark had a steak. The waitress recommended the truffle burger which is what I ended up having. Three bottles of red were consumed.  

At one point I went to the bathroom and there was a woman passed out on the floor.  She’d come from one of the Christmas parties and was very quickly looked after but it did remind me what it’s like in the centre of town at this time of year. Maybe I am glad that I don’t spend much time out and about at the moment. 

I caught the ten to midnight train back to Wimbledon Chase.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.