Everyday Life

By Julez

Festive

This morning I went to visit my Mum at the care home. Brian was off work and could take me down there - it is not walking distance like the place where my Dad was - there are buses, unreliable as they are, but it is two buses and an hour and a half each way even though it is only a little over 2.5 miles from Lincoln as the crow flies, then there's all the walking to/from bus stops.

Anyway, I went today and it was OK. I don't think she really knew who I was and she was asleep much of the time I was there. I do intend to go more often though in future. It's much quieter there than where my Dad was, though my Mum is on the part that is just for dementia sufferers - it might be livelier where the people whose limitations are more physical are.

After Brian picked me up we went to Pets at Home to pick up Minstrel's Christmas present of a new cat-tree. He has destroyed the scratch-posts of his old one which limits his claw sharpening options, leading to use of inappropriate items! The new one has good posts for scratching but he's not spent much time on it yet. He may well be asleep on his old tree upstairs as I type! the new one was on offer and as a bonus for Brian they knocked another 10% off as there was only the display model left. This also means he does not have the job of putting it together!

Once we had taken the new tree home we went out for our annual Christmas treat of lunch at the Botanist restaurant. I had Halloumi and pepper kebab and fries, which I shared with Bri who had his usual fish and chips! I had a lovely plum and agave cooler cocktail too! Before going home we had another couple of drinks in Thor's Tepee.

 It was fantastic sitting by the fire in the tepee sipping mulled wine whilst watching people rushing around under their umbrellas outside. A little rain was falling through the vent in the roof - I felt my hands tingling and realised it was caused by rain splashing off the fire surround! I've added an extra to show another of the Nutcracker Trail characters and the inside looking out feeling!

We had our share of getting soaked on the walk home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.