MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Hospital appointment

I've waited months for my appointment so I was glad to get there. I was due in at 2:45pm but got there just after 2:30pm. At 10 to 3 I had a rudimentary eye test with distance specs on. It was over an hour later before I got seen again and this was scans. Back to waiting room then another room for a different scan on each eye. Dilating drops in and then wait almost another hour to get called in to see the eye surgeon.
He did more scans - at this stage I was wondering what was wrong besides the cataract. He called me round to look at the scan and showed me something which meant little to me as I had dilated pupils and no specs so it was blurry but he explained it as Fuchs' Dystrophy where both cornea's are damaged. He said cataract surgery may make it worse or it may not but if it does I will need a cornea transplant.
Happy days!
I wonder what chance of a cornea transplant is at my age (73)? Anyway, I'm on the list for the cataract as it needs doing since it's bad.
I was gagging for a drink (they have no coffee machine or water or any drinks available there) and you daren't nip out to go to the hospital shop or cafe in case you miss your turn.
A number of people complained at the waiting time and every time they were told "There is only one more person before you" - are they bumping them ahead if they complain? Seems odd they all were next but one! I watched a lot of people come in after me and leave before me - I know I had extra scans but so did others! In fact, way before I was called to be seen there was not anyone left in the waiting room (a large room) that came before me.
Maybe I should have complained ha ha!
The worst thing for me is feeling like a caged tiger sitting around - I hate it. Should have taken a book!
Anyway, it was very busy and that's why I never complained or queried my wait. Having done the odd shift there when i was nursing I know it's always rammed and usually runs late. 
Wine is high on my list tonight. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.