curns' corner

By curns

Merry & Bright

I didn’t do the bending exercises yesterday. I blame having to catch a train into the office. Broke my 16 day streak, and because the streak was broken, I felt no incentive this morning. That’s quite a ridiculous way to think but that’s how my brain is wired. But, I got my morning walk done. Grey, damp air but a walk by the sea is invigorating. Lots of dog walkers. Beach windswept and seaweedy. Because I got up late I only went as far as the tower, 30 minutes or so, where I u-turned. 

I joined one of the virtual socials. They had organised a Christmas-themed quiz. Lots of fun. Braced myself to come low on the leaderboard because of lots of smart engineers. Came second and quite pleased. The more time I see the delivery lead in action the more I am impressed about the way she galvanised this team.  

Ended the day by 5:30pm and out the house for the Merry and Bright festival. Some parks and squares with illuminated “things”. In one, I was expecting Christmas lights and got “under the sea”. A lot of fun.  Eventually, found mulled wine from outside The Star. One cup from the end of the barrel was lukewarm - but delicious. Then other both hot and delicious. We should have combined. 

Briefly sheltered from the rain before the parade started. We stood outdoor Weatherspoons and watched the parade of lights: everything from fully illuminated floats, dancing waiters and children with paper lanterns. So pleased they closed the streets for a bit of festive fun. The carnival company that organises it deserves a big “well done”. 

Home, via the Co-op, for dinner: spicy chicken goujons with fries, broccoli, peas and sweetcorn. All the extras from frozen. Chicken and fries brought my diet score down. Abundance of veg didn’t compensate, unfortunately. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.