curns' corner

By curns

Another Christmas tree

It was hard to leave the house this morning as it seemed really cold out of bed. I’d packed my bag last night - because we are heading to The Island tonight - so, when I eventually got up it was quite quick to make the 7:20am. I wasn’t paying attention on the District Line and got off too early at Earl’s Court. Luckily, I realised as I was walking aimlessly down the platform and jumped back on at the front doors. I think my mistake is because I had to change at Earl’s Court last week when there was some disruption on the journey but that might just be an excuse. 

On the approaches to White City Place the arches were lit up and sparkling but it was only on the way out in the evening that it looked festive. It’s quite a large, impressive, Christmas tree. 

At Waterloo by 6:15pm which was over an hour early. Bought some dinner and some ‘train wine’ (and a phone charger because I don’t seem to have one in my bag). Trains are delayed by various amount due to a number of different issues. Watched as one Portsmouth train left only a few minutes late while the next one was 20 minutes late. PY arrived and couldn’t find any free glasses for the wine so bought a packet from Sainsbury’s.  The train immediately before ours disappeared from the screens before it had even been called.  About 20 minutes later it popped up for a few seconds and a group of people rushed off. 

Our train eventually appeared on the board with a few minutes to spare. Again, cut down to a 5 car train. We managed to get a seat but there were people standing for quite some time. In the end we arrived about ten minutes late because we were following the greater-delayed train ahead of us.

Crossing to Ryde was unexpectedly choppy and the walk down the pier was back on be car-road, dodging traffic, for some reason. The flat was cold when we arrived as the heating has been off but reasonably quickly warmed up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.