flavia13

By flavia13

YEW TREE BARN

A much needed QiGong session this morning.  Then straight afterwards G had a couple of things in Grange he wanted to do so a quick trip into town.  

We then went on up to Yew Tree Barn at Low Newton for coffee and lunch.  Yew Tree Barn is a Reclamation Centre with a great Cafe called Harry's Bar and they also sell some artisan crafts, antiques and collectables, a great place for a browse and coffee.

Today on the menu they had something called a Tartiflette.  I'd not heard of this before.  Basically Tartiflette is a dish from Savoy in the French Alps and from Aosta Valley. It is made with potatoes, reblochon cheese, lardons and onions. A splash of white wine can be added too. This version had some small onions and gherkins on the side.  Now I had to leave the onions as my tummy can't take much of them and I'm not fond of gherkins, but the main dish itself was lovely -and served with a nice chunk of fresh sourdough bread and proper butter.

I have to save it reminded me a little of a fancy Raclette dish and a few Swiss and Austrian type dishes we used to have when we used to holiday there way back in the 1980s and 90s.  Such wonderful memories.

We had a good look around antiques section, the shelves that caught my eye were these lovely Christmas ornaments that came with a beautiful embossed box.  I didn't buy any but I may do so next year as they are rather gorgeous and reasonably priced.

That's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.