Bom

By Bom

An Eye on the Prize

I did a couple of hours in the garden today, picking up the final dropped leaves out the front and tidying up the Mexican Fleabane. I took some photos of the birds in the tree in my back garden as they prepare to visit the feeder - they have a clear eye on the prize! As you can see, there was a bit of sun briefly. Then there was a sudden flurry of movement as a sparrowhawk swooped in trying to catch one of the blue tits, fortunately it failed. It's the first time I've seen one. I also finished writing my cards and wrapping presents.

This afternoon I had an unexpected ring at the door - my neighbour had warned me a couple of days ago about two guys who'd been in the area who ring the doorbell and then push past when it's opened and rob the place. So I checked through the spyhole before opening the door - it was two guys from Gresham's who'd popped round to discuss my initial response on the vague plans they'd posted online for changes to the field. They were much clearer than before, but it was around what they might do, not what they were going to do. I said all I wanted was it to go in writing in the planning application about how they will protect our privacy and minimise light and noise pollution. They did say they would probably put a 12 ft fence behind my fence (not solid) but might leave a 2 foot gap (I was asking about maintaining my fence). They also might plant hedging their side of the fence which would be good. Re the trees, some might be taken out and replaced by better ones and the ones nearest the field might be the edge of the pitches and might not. The slope on the field is such that it will probably be tiered. I asked about drainage and they said they'd have to install a drainage system (I realise now that the field slopes down towards me on one side as well as the road sloping down towards me on the other, so will keep an eye on their plans on this). Unfortunately the pavilion will face towards me as well as facing into the top field. Providing all this goes in the planning proposal, it doesn't sound too bad. My neighbours then arrived home, so I told them all that I'd found out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.