Bom

By Bom

Holkham by Candlelight

For our Christmas present to each other, G and I go to the Holkham Candlelight Tour every year, and today was the day. We arrived just after 2 and went for our mince pie and prosecco included in the ticket (elderflower presse for me), before doing our self guided tour of the house.  They do a fantastic job decorating the rooms and coming up with new ideas every year, bringing in new elements and recycling decorations in innovative ways. This gingerbread house in a more traditional room was my favourite. I've added 4 extra photos as a collage, including the fab kitchens with xmas food, a lovely fireplace, a pop art room and a house in a tree shaped village which was complete with model trains. The house throughout had the wonderful aroma of festive scented candles. This year they introduced light shows in the sculpture gallery and the chapel - lovely to watch although I found them impossible to photograph. Not so G - see her blip at 
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3181304644198468881
For me, it's a lovely start to the festivities, one I really look forward to and enjoy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.