Marionb

By Marionb

Fire Weather..

..not the weather that makes us want to sit by the fire...but a book that perhaps we all should read? It is the February selection for our little book club and I have started it now, as I know it will take me a long time to read and digest all the information  in it. 

"In May 2016, Fort Murray, the hub of Canada's petroleum industry and America's biggest foreign supplier, was over-run by wildfire... an apocalyptic conflagration the wildfire equivalent of  Hurricane Katrina. Through the lens of that fire, the author warns that it was not a unique event but a shocking preview of what we  must prepare for in a hotter, more flammable world. " (excerpts from the flap copy) After a summer of smoke, I expect that the warnings in this book will really hit home..

So far, his writing style is easy to follow and already I have learned more than I thought I would ever know about bitumen.. including how to pronounce it! It is a word that seldom comes up in the kind of conversations I have with my friends, so I haven't ever had to actual say it out loud..but in my head? All this time, I have been pronouncing it wrong! 

So, I am off to a start with the book, but I also have what promises to be a more upbeat and lighthearted book by my side..Cassandra in Reverse....one of the books recommended at the latest "Tea and Books" gathering and described as witty, charming, funny, touching, quirky, hilarious, insightful and totally absorbing...  

Fire Weather will be best understood if I read it in little bits..which probably will need to be interspersed with a dash of Cassandra for some much needed chortles, chuckles and a bit of hilarity...


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.