Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Home sweet home!

I wasn't looking forward to today - heavy rain was forecast. I needn't have worried - it hasn't rained at all! 'Strength & Balance' at the gym this morning - it doesn't get any easier!

After lunch I walked up to McCaig's Tower to meet the council guys - they were felling more trees outside the Tower. How they can work bare-headed with chainsaws and wood chippers I really don't know. If they were my staff I'd report them and send them home!

I went up to the inside garden with the three guys and had a walk round. I told them that I was not intending to tell them what to do, only to say what I would do if the job was mine! They suggested that I should mark those shrubs which I thought should be taken out and those that might be cut to the ground to regenerate - lucky I'd brought a roll of red and white tape with me! Later on one of them came back up and was talked through my ideas - he seemed pretty happy so I'll await the result.

I walked out on to the viewing platform to be met by Misha, the travelling cat. His owners live nearby and he spends most of his time up at the Tower - I sat down and he jumped on to my lap. In January last year Misha was picked up by some tourists from Aberdeen who later said that they thought he was abandoned. They took him home with them to Aberdeen and gave him to some friends as a pet. They took him to the vet to have him microchipped and found that he already had a chip and so they were able to find his owners. He now wears a tracker around his neck and is my Blip today. I wonder what's been going on inside his furry head!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.