CrocusMan

By TonyG

Winter Posy

I'm sure I blip Iris and Snowdrop every year, probably in the same little vase too.   A vase made at Jill's Pottery over ten years ago when Jill was still alive and pottery was up at the farmhouse on the hillside above Rhydyronen.   The snowdrop, a variety called 'Farringdon Double,' is usually the first winter snowdrop to flower.   Iris unguicularis flowers in mild spells from late autumn, the early flowers were ravaged by slugs but the recent cold snap seems to have slowed them down.  I picked two perfect buds this morning.

A busy enough day when what I really needed was a recovery day after the busy weekend.  Two trips to Arthog stables to drop off and pick up Jamie used up a couple of hours.  I dropped more eucalyptus at the florist and glazes at pottery in between as well as doing laundry and having lunch.   After I posted parcels for both Jamie and Ruth before seeing the Doc about my sinus problem.  He confirmed that this is far and away the most likely reason for the headaches, tiredness and the toothache, showing a picture of all the nerves in a human face.  All interconnected and lots running close to and around the sinuses.  A two week course of antibiotics to hopefully see off the persistent infection and reduce the inflammation and swelling in the process.  There's a plan B and C if needed.  There may not be a quick fix .... but I must hope.   The pain in the last few days has been very difficult to deal with at times.

I did get to singing tonight, albeit late, waiting for painkillers to kick in.  Nice gentle evening of chat and some songs.   Now it's time for bed.  Work tomorrow will come as a bit of a shock to the system after over a month off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.