mrsc48

By mrsc48

Happy Bruce Springsteen Day

This is posted the day after Bruce Springsteen Day because it was 3am before I got to bed.

Another fantastic performance from The Boss. No one will ever touch him on the live concert scale.

He sang new songs, he sang old songs, he sang a couple I wasn't sure of but he keeps you mesmerised with his energy and antics on stage with other members if the E Street band.

The older members of the band continue to excite and thrill and a perfect tribute to the 'big man' Clarence Clemence, 'the ministry of soul' and the 'secretary of brotherhood' who passed away 2 years to the day and is sadly missed from the E street band. Also remembered on this evening was Dany Federici who played the organ and other instruments in the E Street band.

Although missed not forgotten and in The Big Man's place is his nephew Jake who is doing a great job. One young lady's night was complete when her sign asked if she could dance with Jake during the obligatory tune of dancing in the dark. She got her wish and danced with Jake. Hazel also got her dance with Bruce as earlier promised by him after reading her sign "hazel will be on the stage later" and he kept his promise. Hazel requested her friend, may have been her daughter got up to dance too and Bruce obliged.

Born to run as always is a highlight, his rendition of twist and shout and one for the Scottish people 'shout' not sure if the sound went off Bruce's microphone or if he didn't really know the words but who cares it was another epic performance. Personally I think his version of twist and shout is better than the original.

His final song was 'Thunder Road' to the delight of my friend who was having a grump as he thought he wasn't going to sing it and he had sang it at other shows.

From the photo you will gather we were a long way away. "Could you see him" you are asking. Well yes I could. I have stood in the standing area in my youth, on my tip toes, straining my neck to see over the tallest man in Britain, my back aching after 3 and a half hours (bruce performs for no less), and loosing the group I was with when visiting the bathroom. Having done that I like a seat, where I know it is my seat, they are usually tiered so the tallest man in Brirain can be sat in front of me and I can still see, the seats were padded so my back had a rest and I don't loose my group because i can find them by block, row and seat number. So yes i could see all I needed to see, I am too old to be crushed at the front and am happy with my seat.

If anyone is wondering is he past it yet, the answer to that is no way, a little older, a little slower, but he still has very definitely still got it.

HE IS THE BOSS.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.