HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

The wall

of ice lanterns.
I'm happy with it and will not add anything until the warmer days have gone by (this upcoming weekend) and I can see how much is left of this.

I'm so tired. Mostly because I've been so angry at things today. it's not like me, but two things just got under my skin so badly.

1) Our neighbor has been doing the biggest snow pushing with his ATV with the plow. Well, his ATV is at the garage the whole week and we've been getting a lot of snow. I had the number of the fellow who does the plowing for our neighbors (the whole road) and I called him if he could help. He came (after I waited 3 hours for him to finish his responsibilities around us) with his tractor and told me that our yard IS TOO BIG FOR HIS TRACTOR. I've been doing the whole are with my husband with manual plow and a shovel MANY TIMES. Our neighbor has been doing it with his ATV and he tells me it's too big for his tractor. Clearly he didn't need the job, so he made a stupid excuse as we have room for the snow and it should be easier to move around in a bigger road than between the houses around us. (I see him move there.) He could have told me that when I called him. We would have both saved time.

I feel like a half a machine, doing manually what is too big for his tractor.

2) We have general strike tomorrow in Finland with political motivation. It's good to voice your opinions. But this strike will only make life harder for those who don't own their own car and can not do remote days.

I received a message through our work app that the strike is not a reason to stay home tomorrow. I'm not working tomorrow. I have a car. But it just makes me furious that what distance are you expected to walk in the winter in deep snow since the plows are also on strike tomorrow. Why is there no helping hand to get people to work. There will be no available taxis tomorrow.

Public schools are closed as kids and teachers can't get to school, but those working for private companies just have to get there somehow.

Some cities have told the parents not to bring lunch for their kids tomorrow for kindergarten even if there will be no food service tomorrow. Like WHAT? Are they gonna keep the children starving tomorrow or will they have an apple and some crackers? I can't wait to find out.

Like I said this won't affect me in any way. I have a car and I'm not even working tomorrow. But do they really think that the people in the government are affected by this? Those people have the taxi service. They have cars. They won't suffer at all. They are just making life harder for those who already have a low income.

Both these things have boiled my blood today. I'll glad when this day is over and I can go to sleep.

I've done a lot of snow plowing today too. Finally my neighbor found a young man who came with his ATV in 30 minutes from the call,  and started plowing. It think it took him less than an hour to get the job done. The last time someone did our yard with a tractor (last winter) it took him 15 minutes with the tractor. It's so much faster and easier with a bigger machine. 

I need to let that go. Now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.