Everyday Life

By Julez

Town Tree

Grace and Sophia very much enjoyed their friends' wedding. The couple are vegans and quite outspoken about it, so the majority of the wedding food was vegan, there was no meat at all and anything with dairy products in was separate and clearly marked! Grace said that it was the best event food that she has had. Given that the vegan offering for my Dad's funeral was a Tesco meal deal, a couple of vegan mince pies and some crisps I can believe it!

After they headed off back to Leeds late morning I went out to get my last few Christmas presents bought. I thought it would only take me a couple of hours as I had lists and knew what I wanted. Wrong!! Turns out knowing what you want and being able to find what you want are not the same thing. At all!

I've walked all over town and down to the retail park near Morrison's and I still have a few more things to get. It will definitely be finished tomorrow though.... My back and arms really ache from lugging shopping bags and wearing my backpack, so I hope so!

This is Lincoln's main town centre tree this year. There is another up near the Cathedral of course, but this is the town one. It is by the Transport Hub and not actually in town though - maybe because the square where it usually goes is like a building site at the moment. Trying to take the shot was annoying and I was  ready for home at this point. 

As I was about to take a photo a woman started messing about with the tree - possibly trying to see if it was real or not (it is!)  After she moved on another woman and a child started fiddling with it, and then a taxi came and parked beside it, followed by a LIVES vehicle straight after. I managed to stand so the emergency car was not in the photo but you can still see its reflection. They did not seem to be treating anyone, just chatting and laughing with bus drivers!

I'm very glad to be in for the night now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.