Teasel

By Teasel

Windows

It was still raining when I woke up this morning.  I had the luxury of sleeping later than on a normal week day.  I was in no hurry to get up to another wet day.   I had a leisurely start to the day – before we set off to the hospital for my mum’s appointment.  It was so dull,  with not much daylight.  We got to the hospital Ok, but I then faced a parking nightmare.  It was 10:10 and all the car parks were full.  There were people queuing everywhere.  I went round a couple of times to no avail., so on my third time round I dropped my  mum and dad off and said I would meet up with them.  I explored other car parks which were also full.  I decided to leave the hospital and look for parking off site.  The roads around about were jam parked with cars, so I kept driving and eventually risked parking in a residential area a good  fifteen minute’s walk away.  Normally I wouldn’t have minded, but it was raining.
 
I walked back and found the clinic quite easily.  My mum had already been taken for her appointment, but after a wee while my dad and I were called in.  She has fractured her humerus in two places at the shoulder end, and her shoulder is dislocated.  They can’t do anything for her, due to her age.  The fractures should heal, but she will have to live with the dislocation.  She will never get the full movement back in her shoulder, but they assured her that life will be ok and she will still have plenty movement.  She was sent off with a load of exercise to do, as they are very keen for her to get her shoulder moving – even in a small way.  She will get physio in the new year.  Probably not the news we expected, but she took it all remarkably well, especially as the recovery is estimated at six to nine months.
 
We stopped for a cuppa at the hospital café, and I then trudged back in the rain to get the car and then picked them up.  We drove back home and went for a pub lunch, which was very welcome.  I think my mum was glad to be out of the house for the first time since her accident.  We had a quick look in a couple of shops, then headed home for a quiet afternoon.  The rain seemed to have eased a wee bit (not stopped) – so I risked a walk.  It wasn’t too bad, until I was very nearly home when the rain got heavier and heavier and I got soaked. 
 
We didn’t need much for tea, after our big lunch.  I then packed my bag and left them to it again, and headed back down the road – another long drive on a wet and dark night.
 
The boys were watching a movie when I got in.  It’s TT’s birthday today, so we had presents, cards and cake.    I was rather weary and headed for an early night.
 
This stained glass was at the entrance to the hospital and appears to depict the trades of the city.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.