Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Sligachan Waterfalls

Our second full photo day here on Skye started at the Sligachan Bridge. We started off in a down pour so we soon decided to wait in the car until the rain would stop. I did after a while so off we went, to the bridge.

We explored the location and the three of us all went our separate way for a while. After a while another rain shower came over, so it was back to the car to avoid getting soaked. We did not succeed, we got soaked.
Time to go back to our cottage, change into dry clothes to make plans for the rest of the day. Dry clothes.... I don't have those.
Well, not true, my problems are over! Around 10:30 the courier Brian arrived with my long awaited bag. He had contacted me earlier in the morning by phone telling me he was leaving Inverness, expected time of arrival 11:00 hours. He arrived 30 minutes ahead of schedule.
Yes yes yes! Now I've got all my things back including my tripod. A dry pants.

We soon went back to Sligachan, to the waterfalls nearby. Great views once again with a brief moment of golden light on Glamaich Hill.
An extensive lunch was had in Broadford, on our way to Elgol.

Elgol, to me, felt like the edge of the world. A fierce wind blew us over the rocks and pebbles towards a nice viewpoint. But because of roadworks, earlier, on our way to Elgol, we were 20 minutes delayed. Therefore most of the light we needed was already gone when we crawled over the Elgol-rocks.

I did not make my best photos there, I just wasn't feeling it there although the location and views were magnificent.
Another rain shower and fading light made us go back to the car.

We arrived home in the dark, had toast with baked egg and cheese (we still were filled with our Broadford lunch) instead of diner, and then started with the post processing of our photos. As always that takes some time, until it's time to go to bed.

The weather forecast for tomorrow can be summarized in a few words: wind, rain and lots of both.
We'll see. The plan is to go to Quiraing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.