Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Quiraing

When I woke up this morning, the first thing I heard was the rain and wind outside. The weather forecasts had been correct. Would it make sense to even to go out?
I noticed that Ron and Herman were sticking to the plan we made yesterday evening. They also knew that the forecasts were saying we would have a dry period over at the Quiraing. Who am I to go against such knowledge. They probably would be right anyway. And keeping photography rule no. 1 in mind: "Be there" I went along in the plans.

When we arrived at the parking near the Quiraing it was raining and because we were early it was too dark to do anything so we waited in the car. Tea was had.
After a while we got out of the car and started our walk towards the impressive views. Cameras were taken out of the bags and we took off. We soon got hit by a short but fierce rain shower. But once that was gone, it stayed dry for quite a while. The wind blew us dry in no time.

As a bonus I dropped my camera on the rocks, but no damage was done. Stupid!

The light was a bit difficult to handle, but I'm happy with the results nonetheless.

Once we were done, we drove on north and when we passed Kilt Rock, I quickly took a few shots of it. Nice to see this location, but I was more impressed by the huge parking that was built near it. Why so much??

The weather now really took a turn for the worse Rain and wind took us back to our home. We probably have had our final shoot already of this trip, despite the fact we'll not be going home until next Sunday.

In the afternoon Ron mentioned that a weather amber alert had been issued for Saturday and Sunday. Risks of flooding parts of the road on our route to Inverness made us alter our plans.
To avoid any stress on Sunday, when we have to catch our plane to Amsterdam, we decided to leave tomorrow (when photography will not even be an option) instead of Sunday morning.

I quickly booked us a hotel in Inverness for one night.
Because we're all happy with the photos we made so far, leaving Skye isn't that big of a problem. We all know we will be back here someday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.