Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Ginger

I usually make gingerbread at this time for year. I've clearly got too much time on my hands because 2023 has seen a compare and contrast exercise. First was Nigella Lawson's sticky ginger cake. I hadn't made it before. It was good and there's half in the freezer for future. Then I made a retro Jamaica ginger loaf which went with Cameraman to a festive event for tree volunteers yesterday.  None came back so I assume it was OK. In the blip is the Hairy Bikers' version. Despite their ridiculous name it's my favourite recipe. There isn't much left and I want to take a slice or two to some neighbours so it's my blip before it disappears. 

I've been out with Flora. It's mild and damp. Not terribly inspiring. 

Later on my elder son and my grandson are coming for a sleepover. My grandson's mum is in Poland visiting her family so they're home alone. Cameraman is planning a big evening meal and our daughter will join us. I think that gingerbread with mascarpone icecream will hit the dessert spot. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.