This is the day

By wrencottage

Clown

I’ve had next to no energy again today, and have spent it mainly in bed, just coming down for meals. It’s quite a nasty virus I’ve got, so I’m just having to sit it out until I feel better.

I thought I’d have another go at my little knitting project, and I managed to get myself back to the stage when all pieces of the little cardigan are back on one set of long needles. I then did three rows of garter stitch (sorry if you’re not a knitter!) and the next row had lots of K2tog (knit two together) to start the shaping for the yoke. All went well until I counted my stitches at the end of that row, and I was one stitch out again.

I simply cannot understand why I’m struggling in such spectacular fashion with this little cardigan. I’ve made it three times before and thoroughly enjoyed knitting it. This time, however, I have dropped so many stitches I’m beginning to feel like this clown on our Christmas tree, except that I’m not finding it very funny.    

So I gave up, and instead treated myself to reading the Oscar Wilde short story ‘The Canterville Ghost’, which was mentioned to me by blipper Rainette a few weeks ago. It was certainly an unusual story; quite how Rainette coped with it when her mother tongue is French beats me; I know for certain that I wouldn’t be up to reading a French translation of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.