This is the day

By wrencottage

Unravelling

I have managed to stay up all day, and even managed to achieve a few jobs this morning, but my energy levels tailed off dramatically after lunch and I began to feel achey all over.

Not being very sensible, though, I continued with my little knitting project – using up some lovely wool that I was given a while back – to make a doll’s cardigan. It’s a pretty pattern, and I’ve blipped it before here. This time I’m knitting it in a lighter, teal green. However, as I wasn’t feeling at my best I have made so many mistakes that I nearly gave up. I had knitted all the separate pieces – back, two fronts and two sleeves – and put them on stitch holders, then I gathered the whole lot together onto one pair of long needles to create the yoke. 

And that’s when my troubles began. I dropped a few stitches down several rows, necessitating them all being pulled back up again. Then I discovered I had one stitch too many. Eventually I just pulled all the stitches off the needles – all 166 of them – and unravelled the knitting until I was back to five separate pieces again, which I put back on stitch holders. I’m now going to put it away until I feel a bit more compos mentis!

Not many photos taken today, so here’s one of the great tits in the garden, having a feast at the peanut kernels. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.