CrocusMan

By TonyG

Sunshine

I didn't see any today.   Flash light needed here.   Crocus danfordiae, the smallest flowered crocus.  It comes in white and blue forms as well as golden yellow, all tiny.   It's hardy but would easily get lost (eaten by slugs here) outside so mine are in pots.  The dark marks at the base of the anthers are a diagnostic feature and if you look closely at the extra pic you will spot the enemy, an aphid.  They find shelter, usually on the back of the leaves and as they are a vector for virus disease, they're bad news.. I only spotted this one on the picture!

A shift in Wharf Cafe today, almost five and a half hours of washing up, interspersed with being a runner for the Christmas dinners going out to table.  Today was advertised as locals Christmas Lunch which drew a good turnout.  I'll sleep well tonight!

Afterwards I picked Tilda up at the station, she had a huge bag of shopping for Jamie as well as her own gear.  She'll be here while I am away at Ruth's ... and for a while when I get back.  We adjourned to Jamie's where much good work was done as he organised things for a couple of days away and for his return with Clara for Christmas :-)   I need to do my own packing now as tomorrow we're off to Birmingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.