CrocusMan

By TonyG

Christmas Gift

I spotted this very flower on JennyOwen's journal yesterday in some amazement that it was already out.  A look in my own garden and there it was too!  Daphne mezereum, which I last saw in flower in Switzerland (a cheeky extra pic) in mid-June.   Up in the mountains it flowers as soon as the snow melts so maybe the cold snap a few weeks ago has triggered this precocious flowering.  My plant is a seedling raised from seed harvested in 2019, not long before I left the Norwich garden behind.  This is it's first flower.  Here is the blip from the very last time I was there.

A quick phone pic before I loaded the car and set off with Jamie for Birmingham where we have enjoyed a jolly evening with Ruth.   Feels like Christmas starts here :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.