London to Brighton

Fred got up at 6.30 and whizzed away on his bicycle. Whisky and I decided to stay asleep until 11 when I thought I should get myself down to the finish line in Brighton. I estimated that Fred would arrive around 1pm or 2pm. Getting to Brighton would have been far easier on a bicycle today - engineering work scuppered my route and the rail replacement bus took an hour to get to Balham. I could have walked it in less! It took me around 3 hours to get to Brighton and it took Fred 4 hours to cycle it. Needless to say he got there way before I did and had already had two well-earned pints when I met him on the beach. There were cyclists and bicycles everywhere! All in all, the team had a good cycle, though there were grumbles that they had had to ride in traffic through London - you would think they could have closed the roads! They do for the marathon.

Anyway, that was a small grumble. And the day was great. Fred crashed out as soon as we returned home (we found a quick way home, at least).

Happy Father's Day Dad! Hope you managed to scoff all the Turkish delight while watching the Grand Prix!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.