Bom

By Bom

Xmas Decorations from Holidays

In a What's App group the other day, two of us were saying how we'd bought a xmas decoration when we were on holiday abroad if we'd seen one. So today I thought I'd collect most of them together for a blip - a tea towel of the Yule Lads from Iceland and a skiing Santa from Norway were excluded due to their size. So left to right we have:
- a bauble from Santorini;
- a little wooden house for the tree from Norway;
- a Russian doll Santa from St Petersburg;
- a glass xmas tree with millefiori I think was from Sorrento or Venice;
- a mosaic bauble from Barcelona in tribute to Gaudi;
- a little mosaic style Santa from Gibraltar;
- an enamel Santa from Malta;
- a Santa basket from Bruges;
- a wooden tree decoration of Gryla from Iceland (who seeks out naughty children at xmas time and takes them home and eats them!);
- a tree dec of a cat asleep in a Santa hat from Bruges;
- a green Santa from Sicily;
- a bauble from Ireland;
- a lemon shaped bauble from Sorrento (where they make Limoncello);
- a traditional Santa from Norway;
- the candle-stealer, one of the Yule Lads from Iceland. 

We both said how much we like getting them out of the box every December and how it reminds us of our lovely holidays. I used to go on a cruise every couple of years - you don't get much time in port, particularly when on trips out, so they were only bought if I happened to see one. 

The gales overnight and today weren't as bad as I was expecting. I got my week's grocery delivery from Sainsbury's this morning, but a few things were missing so I drove over to Morrisons at Cromer to fill the gaps as it's Christmas. I also picked up some Really Useful boxes at Homebase in the sale as I wanted more for when I sort out the wardrobes with shelving in January. I walked down to the sea front for a photo of the pier and as soon as I got past the buildings I was nearly blown over by a big gust of wind! The pier photo on my phone in very poor light wasn't usable. Yay - the shortest day today, I hate the sun going down behind the bungalow opposite at 3pm! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.