Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Advent Window

The tradition of lighting windows in our neighbourhood is now firmly established. There are so many pretty, witty and creative windows lit which I can never hope to emulate. I wouldn't not participate though as I love the idea. The extra is from yesterday - the suitably cropped four year old helping with the snowflakes.

 We opt for 21st which is usually the winter solstice. This year the solstice is tomorrow at about 03:30  but I'm not going to quibble. If you light a window during advent, or indeed if you don't, you're invited to make a donation to the fund which keeps the three local defibrillators in working order. 

In twelve hours' time we'll be past the darkest point of the year and we'll begin the slow, steady climb towards spring. On current form I'll probably be awake to welcome the return of the light though the temptation to take a Nytol is strong. 

I had to buy a replacement screen for my phone today. The price was a bit of a shock. Then came an email from NorthLink to say that summer ferry bookings are open. I feel I need to move fast to secure a pet friendly cabin so I made the reservation. Also a bit on the pricey side but that's travel to Shetland (and back) arranged for July. 

The wind has dropped now but it was a wild night and morning. It's been sunny though which has helped - especially on the shortest, darkest day of the year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.