helenann

By helenann

Winter heliotrope

I met a friend of mine, C,  for lunch at a local pub. Nearby, on some damp ground by a hedge, I spotted  a clump of this plant, Winter heliotrope, (Petasites fragrans). It isn't  a native to Britain, and  only plants with  male flowers are found here. Apparently, it can become  invasive, spreading by rhizomes, but I think it's quite an attractive ground cover plant, and the flowers are vanilla- scented.

This evening,  Martin and I  attended our local film club, to see "The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry", based on Rachel Joyce's original book of the same name. I was rather  disappointed when I read  the book some years  ago, but I thought the film was  better, although not the best film I've  seen recently.           

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.