Alfa Romeo-niscing

This beaut was parked on Haywards Heath high street this morning & it really caught my attention. Classic & bright red it's no surprise.

As I didn't have time to stop & chat & have a closer look, as far as I can determine, it's an Alfa Romeo, possibly GTA series, & that pretty much exhausts my knowledge on the subject. Although I must say, it has been incredibly stuffy today, & I've even caught the sun somehow, & so not that I knew it, but in some small way the striking & vivid colour of this classic car set the warm tone for the day.

Interesting fact for the day for you, according to my sources (Monkey really is a fountain of all useless information), in the late 1920's & early 1930's when Alfa were suffering financial difficulties, Benito Mussolini's Italian Government rescued the company & effectively had ownership of it. It became an emblem of wealth for the nation. Fascist-inating!

I love it when you can bridge the void between early 20th century fascist dictators, classic cars & an economic crisis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.