Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Dasher and Dancer and Prancer and Vixen

Yes, I know, these are roe not reindeer and there are only four of them not eight, but as soon as I saw them I thought of that verse in 'Twas the Night before Christmas:

With a little old driver, so lively and quick,
I knew in a moment it must be St. Nick.
More rapid than eagles his coursers they came,
And he whistled, and shouted, and called them by name;
"Now, DASHER! now, DANCER! now, PRANCER and VIXEN!
On, COMET! on CUPID! on, DONNER and BLITZEN!
To the top of the porch! to the top of the wall!

Now dash away! dash away! dash away all!"

This morning I met this little family again in the reserve.  The kids are really growing up and were resting with their mama beside the path down to the pond.  It hasn't in fact been very sunny today, but there have been lovely moments of brightness to relish after so few fine days this autumn and winter.

When I got home and J had finished walking the dogs in relays he and I went up to Sainsbury's for a final shop.  It wasn't until we got back I discovered the quarter bottle of brandy I bought to fire the Christmas pud still had it's security cap on.  How had we managed that?  Sadly not by shoplifting, there it is on the receipt, but J has nobly offered to go back tomorrow to get it's plastic hat removed!

That's all.  I'm not going back to proper commenting yet as time is running away with me (as I guess it is for you too), but I shall enormously enjoy looking at your gorgeous images and sprinkling stars and hearts..

Take care - and best of luck with the final preps  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.