Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Adorable dunnock

A bit of a better day weatherwise - mostly grey but we did have moments of sunshine.  Knowing the light should be good I really wanted to go to the reserve, but had absolutely no time.  Instead I waited for a patch of lightness, then zipped down to the Nuns' Stream and caught this cute little dunnock just finishing it's morning grooming session.

Straight away afterwards I had to do a mercy dash to the vet with our new little boy who has a terrible tummy (you really don't want to know!)  Lots of advice, potions and a huge amount of money later, I brought him back home on the bus.  After which, J arrived home with our Christmas houseguests: two cockerpoos, a second ridgeback and a beautiful but rather reactive German Shepherd, to add to Duke, Hazel and Bramble.  I have never had a Christmas like it, but knowing the dogs will all be beautifully looked after and none of that side is my responsibility is, I have to admit, a huge relief!

I've already pulled back on the decorating and am now thinking of ways to lessen the remaining shopping and cooking.  Well, you have to just stick with the possible - perfection's for another year (maybe)!

Hope all your preps are going well.  I have to say now that although my comments were turned on yesterday and will be left on, I shall have time for very little commenting in the week going forward, so please don't feel obliged to either.  (Stars and hearts as usual of course).This is partly sheer exhaustion and partly that my office is being taken over by J for use as his office for the next week.  After that, hopefully sanity will return.

Have a wonderful Christmas Eve tomorrow and let's all of us in the Northern Hemisphere celebrate the turning of the year and the start of longer days  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.