Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Newport - My One Street in 1911

As some of you know I collect postcards and in particular ones that are local to where I live now and from where I was born. This morning the postman delivered my latest postcard, a bargain, purchased from eBay. It is of a painting and the lane, running from the houses and disappearing off to the left-hand side is Chalk Farm Lane, which is the top end of my 'One Street'.

The postcard has been photographed and I do not think I am in breach of anyone's copyright. However, to be sure, the postcard was actually produced from an oil painting by LH Mitchell and published under the 'Canon' or Capon' series. This postcard was posted from Newport in Essex to someone in London; the date of the postmark is 24 July 1911; it is almost 102 years old!

Sometime in the not too distant future I shall attempt to take the same view; this will have to be taken on a Sunday to avoid the commuter's cars; during the week they park along the side of the road.

Dougal and Florence say many thanks for all their birthday wishes yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.