Capital adventures

By marchmont

Took my cough to the Doc

After #1 son's berating last night, more about how my cough affected him than me, I was up early and queuing for the Klink to open before 9.  NHS Inform advises no need to see a doctor before 3 weeks, just self medicate, as I've been doing.  However, I succumbed and was in and out by 9.40 knowing my lungs, throat and vital signs are ok but with a slew of drugs, broad spectrum mainly preventative, in case of bronchitis, allergy etc, all for less than £20.  Also dietary advice to help the cold, no citrus, no nuts and no cooling drinks. To 'celebrate' I went for breakfast to Nasi Kandar Pelita and had 2 roti canai for 63p - extra. 

I spent the morning with the girls - we went to Jaya and after a leftovers lunch came back to GK and had a swim.  It was very windy and got really cloudy.  I thought it was going to rain to went upstairs and finished the wrapping.  It took ages and I almost put a wrong name tag on.  Then I loaded everything in to 2 suitcases and took it to the tree, through a rainstorm. 

#1 son has been back to doc too - platelet count still low but he is looking a lot better.  (Btw the Klink is open 14 hours a day weekdays and 11 hours a day weekends but closed on Christmas Day). And the receptionist remembered me despite the fact I've inly been there twice before.  The staff at my own medical practice, who see me at least 4 times a year have no idea who I am.

The process of introducing Irn Bru to Kitty has begun, It will be interesting to see how it goes. We had another carry out - pizza on Friday, Wok Hei on Saturday (actually only two meals have home made since I got here.) but I left before the film. I didn't last long once back - definitely an early night needed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.