Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Christmas Ponies and Axe Throwing …….

Today we’ve planned a pre-Christmas walk in Eryri - taking in Llyn Geirionedd and Cors Bordynydd - but one look at the weather forecast for the area shuts down this idea pretty quickly. 

So what else can you do two days before Christmas? Well that well-known traditional festive activity of axe throwing of course! We discovered - quite by accident - that our favourite local pizza company Johnny Doughs has branched out into axe throwing under the name of ……. Johnny Throws! 

G and I have no enthusiasm for this, but the youngsters certainly do - including the  heavily pregnant Solveig. I’m less than convinced this is an ideal activity for her, but they tell me the small print says it’s safe … 

So they go off and have a great time, leaving us oldies to a walk around RSPB Conwy. Amazingly, the grey skies have cleared to allow a patch of blue to appear over the upper valley so we enjoy a walk in glorious winter sunshine - though it’s decidedly muddy underfoot. I must admit I’m feeling pretty tired, so only manage to complete my shortened circuit - but encounters with robins and ponies make it special. 

The axe throwers return safely, all body parts intact, and we head off to a local hostelry for a delicious meal - my vegetable and blue cheese wellington is excellent- before returning home to complete the longest game of Trivial Pursuit ever. 

So today’s main’s a sun-kissed Carneddau in the reserve, with extras of the younger generation looking far too enthusiastic about throwing axes! 

I hope your final festive preparations are going well, and thanks for your understanding. I know everyone is busy, but most people seem to be far more organised than I do in terms of blipping! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.