JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Sprouts picked

... and prepared, holly and other greenery picked and arranged (after a fashion), cards to neighbours written and delivered (in the dark - and it really was dark up the lane to one house), and last minute vouchers sent to my nephew and nieces. I'd prefer to send real gifts to unwrap, but have not been given any indication of what anyone would like, and now that they are all young adults who I don't see often, I no longer trust my ability to choose things for them. 

P gave J her present - a new waffle maker - today, so that he could make Sunday waffles with it. Sunday was waffle day for a long time, until the waffle maker burned out earlier this year, and it's a tradition J has been keen to revive. They were a substantial breakfast, so later we just enjoyed mince pies and cream; and this evening P has cooked a Sunday/Christmas dinner, the vegan version of the traditional roast with an excellent nut roast, roast vegetables, the year's first Brussels sprouts from the garden, gravy, and the thing that makes roast dinner into Christmas dinner, my favourite, essential component, lots of bread sauce; cranberry too, but that's less crucial. It was delicious and I look forward to repeating it all tomorrow.

Now, I still have wrapping to do, and must try again to locate the stockings; but at least I have finally caught up with my blips. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.