BRIANW

By BRIANW

The Virgin Mary & The Trees, The Friars, Aylesford

We had a lovely meal yesterday, mainly due to my brother doing a lot of the heavy lifting cooking wise. My job was to look after the turkey and this year, thank God, it came out just right. We then watched some good telly which included the last episode of Micahel Portillo's Andalucia (six perfect episodes of travel documentary, beautifully done) and Christmas episodes of Bake Off and Potterty Throw Down. I loved with the last two how they tried their best (but failed) to hide the fact that they were both probably filmed in late summer or early autumn. Both programmes were still great, though.
I'm still feeling the effects of Covid, mainly bouts of real tiredness and the ever present aching limbs but luckily little else, apart from a bit of brain fog now and again so, all in all, not too bad considering.
As it was a beautiful day (a rare thing this December in our part of the country) we headed for a short distanced walk around the Friars just outside our village. It was very quiet, apart from the geese, ducks and black swans in and around the pond. This is where I took today's picture of  the Virgin Mary statue that sits in the middle of the Rosary Way. I thought it worked well as a (near) silhouette with just a few details visible. We then headed back home for light lunch of soup and crackers and cheese.
My recommendation of best programme at Christmas was the lovely tribute to Caroline Aherne. It was touching, laugh out loud funny and incredibly sad (I'm not afraid to say it made me cry as well as have me in hysterics). Her writing (along with Craig Cash) on the Royle Family, especially in the more emotional scenes, was the equal of any of the greatest television of the last few decades. What a talent she was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.