iaint

By iaint

Sandwich

Junior has come and gone, eating in between. 

The meat in the sandwich. The bread on either side is the time I have spent in the kitchen today. 

It was worth every minute, not just because it is good to see him and watch him demolish the food I have made, but because I enjoyed the results too. 

Main course was venison steak with cheesy mashed potatoes, and a pomegranate sauce for the meat (Extra 1). It is a tried and tested dish to put in front of him. The meat in another sandwich. 

Starter was the tomato soup I made yesterday... Extra 2. I have not made it before. He enjoyed it. 

My Blip is the other innovation. I made a dessert. I never do that, but never say "never"...

It is a Caucasus influenced version of Scottish cranachan. I used pomegranate instead of raspberries and yoghurt instead of cream. It will go on the menu again. 

I still have 10 remaining extras to use up. I will see what I can do. For today, Extra 3 is a veteran of the war in Ukraine whom I enjoy following over on Insta. A refreshing change from the selfie queens and filtered out imperfections.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.