What I've Done

By JohnGravett

A full dozen

Back on the 1st January 2012, I decided to take and post a photo every day for 12 months. I wasn't sure if I could manage that, but gave it my best. When I succeeded, I was surprised, and felt a great feeling of achievement.

Rather than stopping, I spoke to some friends who had also started on the same date (Graham Colling, Annie & Chris, etc) and we decided to carry on.

Here we (all) are - 12 years later, photos always taken on the "right" day, no gaps. 

Thank you to everyone who has ever stopped by my journal, to my "regulars", to the occasional viewers. I seemed to have amassed over 2.7 million views!

Some photos I post are quite good, many are just a record of my life, my day, the weather, etc. but that's the point of Blipping. It's my back-diary, and as long as Blipfoto is still here, I'll never stop. Todays pic was quite a challenge. A carefully broken egg, leaving most of the shell intact. I cut a hole in the bottom of the egg box, and a hole in the background sheet. A studio flash with a snoot underneath the sheet concentrated the light just to the hollow egg. And a long enough exposure to record the box and the eggs. The numbers were added on 12 layers in PhotoShop, and each were warped to Arc shapes to look as if they were shaped on the top of each egg. 

2023 hasn't been too bad a year for photos, I've started my 4th Wainwright Round for charity, which has maintained my fitness and also given me some good locations to shoot from.

Highlights of the past year:

My most favourited ever Blip
Good trips away
Can't have a year without some snow

So here's to lucky 13 - I promise to keep trying to shoot better pics all the time.

Thank you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.