carliewired

By carliewired

66 F/ 19 C

A gallery tour
and lunch with a talented 
friend - it's the best day! 

~carliewired

I met Arlene at the Yuma Art Center at 11 AM when it opened. Arlene's lovely show "Am I there yet?" opened on December 1/23 but I missed the reception. Today, I got to enjoy it with the artist herself! 

We took our time walking around the big space, discussing the elements, history and thinking behind the paintings. Arlene is an abstract artist but many of her pieces are more abstract/realism to me. I see figures and locations in her work. Her colours are bold and dramatic. As I reminded her today, I didn't like abstract art until I saw hers. 

It was quite impressive to see the scope of Arlene's work over several years all in one big room. There's a great deal of effort that goes into hanging a show. Each piece needs a name and must be hang-ready and listed in an inventory. I was fortunate to be able to see it before the exhibit comes down at the end of January. I picked my four favourites to show here. 

We walked off to lunch at my favourite Italian restaurant on  Main Street to continue the conversation. 

I'm in for the rest of the day with my sad feet propped up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.