Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Meeting

(30/12/23)
I need to stop with the back blips, as it is past midnight!

Today was the last day in the office for nearly everyone, either because they are travelling or because we can all work from home until 2024! The team I work in is so thin on the ground that I think we were less than ten in all. I had offered to take in breakfast in the form of aloo parathas from nearby Sind Punjab Restaurant.

G dropped me off. The parathas were a real hit, so much so Sarita said we should have breakfast as a team at least once a month! :)) I forgot to take my camera, so my colleague Shehroz took the selfie using my phone.

Back at home at the end of the day, G & I mustered the energy to go to the SA meeting. I'm glad we did as a family was visiting from an SA core in Voronezh, Russia! Amazing! The lady officer even led the service and delivered a short sermon! I was able to help her identify a song she wanted to use during the meeting (Graham Kendrick's Such Love). We chatted with them after the meeting and ended up giving them a ride back to their hotel.

I had a phone call from the landlord's agent. The Judge has given his ruling, but unlike my neighbour in No. 33, we won. The agent has accepted our offer but is insisting on charging us over £500 to renew the contract. I said it was an unreasonable amount, especially as others were paying over £200 less for the same service. I also told her that if she didn't bring the price down, I would go back to the Rent Dispute Committee and win again, whereby they would not get a fee at all! Some practices here are astounding.

PS. This is a WhatsApp image! I have never used a WA image before!! :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.