Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Old Friends meet-up

(30/12/23)

We're into double digits in December already! Yikes!

After a leisurely start to the morning, we got ourselves dressed and swung past Diane to pick her up for our Old Friends meet up. Natasha is in town for Christmas, so arranged weeks ago to meet us. She chose to have Afternoon Tea at a venue we have been at before. As is normal in Dubai, things have changed, with their wonderful buffet Afternoon Tea being a casualty. What they offer now resembles other ATs in the rest of the world. They had some unusual sweets and savouries, but I don't think anyone will be rushing back.

As always, we had a lovely time together. Unfortunately, I couldn't share the picture from the recent 30th Anniversary celebrations. I took G's old iPad when I should have taken the new one.

We all dispersed by 5 PM, leaving plenty of time for G & me to get to the  Nine Lessons and Carol service at Holy Trinity. My friend Shiro messaged to let me know it wasn't the Carol service we were hoping for but "different". (She'd been to the one in the morning). As a result, we stayed in trying to catch a service from the UK via YouTube or Facebook, but it wasn't to be. So sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.