ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Booted

Once again, not too much happened. I had a busy morning doing a cycling workout, accompanying Mr A to the supermarket, and then attending to the second to the last swim of the year at Shandwick. I wasn't feeling the love at all. It was cold, there was a bitter wind, the tide was high, and there were a lot of stones to navigate to get into the water. And then in the water there were more stones, kelp holding you back, and quite big waves. I ended up on my backside for the first time in ages because I forgot to turn side on to the wave.

Nevertheless, as they say, I persisted, and once out past the breakers, there was just a reasonably gentle swell and fresh seawater to swim around in for a few minutes. And lovely people to hang out with.

Back on shore, it was hard to get dressed quickly enough, because of the wind, and for the first time in a while I got a bit cold.

So the afternoon was perfect but much less active (but then by that stage it was raining anyway, so who cared about being out and about?). I fixed myself a hot water bottle (I now have one of those long thin ones, with a furry cover) and sat reading my book and managed to finish my 24th book of the year (so not that far short of last year's 29....). Anne Tyler, The Redhead at the Side of the Road. Possibly, perhaps surprisingly, my first Anne Tyler.

We've largely escaped the depradations of the latest storm. It seems to have bypassed Easter Ross. Some sunshine seems to be forecast for tomorrow, so fingers crossed for that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.