Scramble!

House sparrows, passer domesticus.

For the first time this winter I put out the grain feeder. The sparrows were quick to discover it. The feeder has six holes and there were about fifty sparrows. To make matters worse those on the perches sat there rolling the grain in their beaks to husk it, while others clamoured for a turn. This shot was taken through a window. I like the way the light reflected from the snow brightens their under parts.

Nice large.

The temperature has been just above 0ºC all day. We have had a lot of rain, sleet, and snow. There is about 7cm of slushy snow on the ground.

I was very cold last night. I couldn't get the stove to burn properly (perhaps due to the wind), and it was too cold in my computer corner to do any blipping. Sorry about that- hope it will be better this evening.

My skate yesterday was not serious. I didn't fall down. This morning the sign had been put up again and I was amused to see that it was simply a large exclamation mark!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.